Climate-neutral Commerzbank Climate-neutral Commerzbank

search

Key_Visual_CLEAN

For Commerzbank, climate protection constitutes an important aspect of its corporate responsibility. This is reflected, on the one hand, in the Bank’s core business via, for example, our commitment to renewable energy or emissions trading. On the other hand, it is also shown in our endeavours to continuously reduce our ecological footprint. During the last few years, we have managed to significantly cut down on carbon-dioxide emission. At the beginning of 2015, we took the next logical step: Remaining greenhouse-gas emissions are being compensated for through the purchase and retirement of high-quality CO2 certificates. As such, Commerzbank is working in a climate-neutral manner.

In the climate strategy, Commerzbank set down the reduction of its own CO2 emissions by a total of 70 percent by 2020 in comparison to 2007, the base year. Thanks to a number of measures in facility management and mobility in particular, we have already been able to pare down 67% of the greenhouse-gas emissions. The climate neutrality of the banking operations also covers carbon-dioxide emissions resulting from the commuter traffic of the employees, which constitute almost a quarter of the total emissions.

With respect to the compensation, the integrity of the emission-reduction projects as well as that of the certificates generated by these projects is essential in adequately compensating for carbon-dioxide emission. For this reason, we have defined clear principles for the selection of the projects. They pertain to the quality of the certificates, the forms of technology which are deployed towards the prevention of CO2, as well as to the countries in which these projects are located.

However, the following applies to the future as well: “Reduction rather than compensation”. Afterall, the best emissions are those which are not caused at all.

Support for the Sustainable Development Goals

Top

Klimaneutrale Commerzbank Klimaneutrale Commerzbank

Suche

Key_Visual_CLEAN

Klimaschutz ist für die Commerzbank ein wichtiger Aspekt ihrer unternehmerischen Verantwortung. Das zeigt sich zum einen im Kerngeschäft etwa durch unser Engagement für erneuerbare Energien oder den Emissionsrechtehandel. Zum anderen aber auch in unserem Bemühen, den eigenen ökologischen Fußabdruck immer weiter zu reduzieren. In den vergangenen Jahren haben wir den CO2-Ausstoß bereits deutlich verringert. Anfang 2015 folgte der nächste, konsequenten Schritt: Verbleibende Treibhausgas-Emissionen werden durch den Ankauf und die Stilllegung hochwertiger CO2-Zertifikate kompensiert. Damit arbeitet die Commerzbank klimaneutral.

In der Klimastrategie hat die Commerzbank die Reduktion der eigenen CO2-Emissionen um insgesamt 70 Prozent bis 2020 gegenüber dem Basisjahr 2007 festgelegt. Durch eine Vielzahl von Maßnahmen insbesondere im Gebäudemanagement und bei der Mobilität konnten wir bereits 67 Prozent der Treibhausgas-Emissionen einsparen. Die Klimaneutralstellung des Bankbetriebs erfolgt inklusive des durch den Pendelverkehr der Mitarbeiter entstehende CO2-Ausstoßes, der fast ein Viertel der Gesamtemission ausmacht.

Bei der Kompensation ist die Integrität der Emissionsminderungsprojekte und der daraus generierten Zertifikate essentiell, um einen angemessenen CO2-Ausgleich zu schaffen. Deshalb haben wir klare Grundsätze für die Auswahl der Projekte definiert. Sie beziehen sich auf die Qualität der Zertifikate, die Technologien, die zur CO2-Vermeidung eingesetzt werden, sowie die Länder, in denen die Projekte angesiedelt sind.

Aber auch für die Zukunft gilt: „Reduzieren geht vor Kompensieren“. Denn die besten Emissionen sind die, die gar nicht erst entstehen.

Zum Seitenanfang