Credit Portfolio Climate Risks Credit Portfolio Climate Risks

search

TCFD_183px

Commerzbank is an official supporter of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosure (TCFD). Our aim is to raise transparency through the disclosure of the climate change risks and opportunities associated with our credit portfolio. The TCFD recommendations constitute the basis for consistent and comparable reporting practices on the effects of climate change. Commerzbank plans to publish its first TCFD report in 2022 for the fiscal year 2021.

The TCFD standard was drawn up by the Financial Stability Council of the G20 countries and their central banks in June 2017. Currently, more than 1,000 companies worldwide follow the TCFD recommendations (as of September 2020). The initiative was launched in response to increasing climate change risks. Physical risks, such as the effects of natural disasters, and transitory risks associated with the transition to a sustainable economy, are becoming increasingly important factors in the risk management of banks and other companies.

Commerzbank joined the Science Based Targets Initiative (SBTIi) at the same time as issuing its official support of TCFD. The SBTi has committed itself to reducing greenhouse gases based on scientifically calculated targets.

In the future, we want to transform our credit portfolio to take a more sustainable approach and provide our stakeholders with decision-making information based on transparent and comparable benchmarks. As a first step, the Bank has identified CO2-intensive sectors within its portfolio and is determining the level of CO2 emissions associated with these portfolio segments.

Commerzbank has signed the climate commitment of the German financial sector in June 2020. Thereby, we are now dedicated to achieving full compliance with the Paris climate agreement in the management of our credit portfolio by the end of 2022. The overarching objective here is to reduce global warming below the 2°C benchmark. By signing into TCFD recommendation, we have taken the next step toward achieving this.

Further Information

Interview on participation in Commerzbanker

Top

Klimarisiken im Kreditportfolio transparent machen Klimarisiken im Kreditportfolio transparent machen

Suche

TCFD_183px

Die Commerzbank ist offizieller Unterstützer der Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosure (TCFD). Damit machen wir Chancen und Risiken des Klimawandels für unser Kreditportfolio transparent. Die Empfehlungen der TCFD sind die Basis für eine konsistente und vergleichbare Berichterstattung über die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels. Den ersten TCFD-Bericht plant die Commerzbank 2022 für das Geschäftsjahr 2021 zu veröffentlichen.

Der TCFD-Standard wurde im Juni 2017 vom Finanzstabilitätsrat der G20-Staaten und -Zentralbanken federführend erarbeitet. Mehr als 1.000 Unternehmen weltweit bekennen sich mittlerweile zu den TCFD-Empfehlungen (Stand September 2020). Die Initiative entstand vor dem Hintergrund der zunehmenden Risiken aus dem Klimawandel. Im Risikomanagement von Unternehmen und Banken werden physische Risiken, beispielsweise Auswirkungen von Naturkatastrophen, und transitorische Risiken aus dem Veränderungsprozess hin zu einer nachhaltigeren Wirtschaft immer wichtigere Faktoren.

Zeitgleich mit der offiziellen Unterstützung der TCFD ist die Commerzbank der Science Based Targets Initiative (SBTi) beigetreten. Diese setzt sich für die Reduktion von Treibhausgasen auf Basis von wissenschaftlich berechneten Zielvorgaben ein.

Wir wollen unser Kreditportfolio in den nächsten Jahren entsprechend transformieren und unseren Stakeholdern entscheidungsrelevante Informationen auf Basis klarer und vergleichbarer Richtwerte bieten. Als konkreten ersten Schritt hat die Bank die CO2-intensiven Branchen ihres Gesamtportfolios identifiziert und ermittelt die Höhe der CO2-Belastung, die mit diesen Teilportfolien verbunden ist.

Bereits im Juni 2020 hat die Commerzbank die Klimaschutzselbstverpflichtung des deutschen Finanzsektors unterzeichnet. Darin verpflichten wir uns, unser Kreditportfolio bis Ende 2022 nachvollziehbar nach den Grundsätzen des Pariser Klimaabkommens zu steuern – mit dem Ziel, die Erderwärmung auf deutlich unter 2 Grad zu begrenzen. Mit der Unterzeichnung der TCFD-Empfehlungen haben wir den nächsten Schritt zur Erreichung dieses Ziels gemacht.

Weitere Informationen

Interview zur Beteiligung im Commerzbanker

Presseinformation 24.09.2020

Zum Seitenanfang