Frankfurt Declaration Frankfurt Declaration

search

In a joint declaration, about 40 banks, corporations, universities and non-governmental organisations committed to building sustainable financial sector infrastructures in May 2017. Martin Zielke, Chairman of the Board of Managing Directors, signed the declaration for Commerzbank.

The „Frankfurt Declaration“ was initiated by the Deutsche Börse. It represents the starting point of an open dialogue. The topics on the sustainability initiative's common agenda are:

  • to define the framework conditions of sustainable finance and to put in place concrete initiatives to implement new structures
  • to identify measures, products and services with a view to mobilising the potential of sustainable financial market infrastructures and using it to initiate positive economic, social and environmental development
  • to identify the Frankfurt financial centre’s responsibility in achieving the UN Sustainable Development Goals and to define key indicators allowing the financial services sector to measure its contributions to achieving the sustainable development goals
  • to align corporate governance with the principles of the UN Global Compact, the contents of the UNEP Statement of Commitment by Financial Institutions on Sustainable Development and/or the PRI Principles for Responsible Investment and to annually report on its progress in the respective format

The launch conference “Accelerating Sustainable Finance” in May 2017 featured discussions on all issues around the financial system's future viability and new ideas for sustainable business models. These topics will be elaborated by the initiative during the months following the launch. Commerzbank supports the initiative because of its importance in the financing of the energy transition but also because of its 14 million private and corporate clients, for which sustainable financial solutions play an increasingly larger role.

Top

Frankfurter Erklärung Frankfurter Erklärung

Suche

In einer gemeinsamen Erklärung der Finanzwirtschaft, bekennen sich seit Mai 2017 knapp 40 Banken, Unternehmen, Hochschulen und Nichtregierungsorganisationen zum Ziel nachhaltige Infrastrukturen im Finanzsystem zu schaffen. Für die Commerzbank unterzeichnete der Vorstandsvorsitzende Martin Zielke.

Die „Frankfurter Erklärung“ entstand auf Initiative der Deutschen Börse und bildet den Ausgangspunkt eines offenen Dialogs. Auf der Agenda der gemeinsamen Nachhaltigkeitsinitiative stehen insbesondere:

  • die Rahmenbedingungen einer nachhaltigen Finanzwirtschaft definieren und auf dieser Basis konkrete Initiativen zur Umsetzung neuer Strukturen anstoßen
  • Maßnahmen, Produkte und Services identifizieren, um das Potenzial nachhaltiger Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen zu mobilisieren und für eine positive Entwicklung von Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft und Umwelt einzusetzen
  • die Verantwortung des Finanzplatzes Frankfurt für das Erreichen der UN Sustainable Development Goals identifizieren und durch die Formulierung von wesentlichen Indikatoren den Beitrag des Finanzdienstleistungssektors zur Erreichung der nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele messbar machen
  • die Unternehmensführung nach den Prinzipien des UN Global Compact, den Inhalten des UNEP Statement of Commitment by Financial Institutions on Sustainable Development und/oder den PRI Principles for Responsible Investment ausrichten und ihre Entwicklung jährlich in der jeweils geforderten Form offenlegen

Im Rahmen der Auftaktkonferenz „Accelerating Sustainable Finance“ wurden im Mai 2017 Fragen rund um die Zukunftsfähigkeit des Finanzsystems und neue Strukturen für nachhaltiges Wirtschaften diskutiert, die in den folgenden Monaten weiter bearbeitet werden. Die Commerzbank unterstützt die Initiative aufgrund ihrer Bedeutung bei der Finanzierung der Energiewende aber auch wegen ihrer 14 Millionen Privat- und Firmenkunden, für die nachhaltige Finanzlösungen eine zunehmend größere Rolle spielen.

Zum Seitenanfang