Climate Neutral Now Climate Neutral Now

search

Climate_neutral_now_badge_blue

“Climate Neutral Now” is an initiative launched by the UN Climate Change in 2015, aiming at encouraging and supporting all levels of society to take climate action to achieve a climate neutral world by mid-century, as enshrined in the Paris Agreement.

The initiative invites companies, organizations, governments and citizens to work towards climate neutrality by compensating their climate footprint in three steps:

  • Measure their greenhouse gas emissions
  • Reduce them as much as possible and
  • Compensate those which cannot be avoided by using UN certified emission reductions (CERs)

These units are generated by climate-friendly development projects vetted by the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). The purchase of the units to compensate one's unavoidable emissions supports climate-friendly projects in developing countries and thus a local, sustainable development and the achievement of the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

Commerzbank AG in Germany has worked in a climate neutral manner since 2015 and compensates its unavoidable emissions with CERs from projects related to renewable energies and energy efficiency. With our pledge to Climate Neutral Now on in February 2019 we have further strengthened our engagement for climate action.

Further Links

Top

Climate Neutral Now Climate Neutral Now

Suche

Climate_neutral_now_badge_blue

„Climate Neutral Now“ ist eine Initiative von UN Climate Change, die 2015 gestartet wurde. Ziel ist es, alle gesellschaftlichen Akteure zum Klimaschutz zu ermutigen und zu unterstützen, um bis 2050 eine klimaneutrale Welt zu erreichen – so wie es im Pariser Klimaabkommen festgelegt wurde.

Die Initiative lädt Unternehmen, Organisationen, Regierungen und Bürger ein, auf die eigene Klimaneutralität hinzuarbeiten, indem sie ihren CO2-Fußabdruck in drei Schritten neutralisieren:

  • Treibhausgas-Emissionen messen
  • Emissionen so weit wie möglich reduzieren und
  • unvermeidbare Emissionen mit UN certified emission reductions (CERs) kompensieren

CERs sind Zertifikate, die von Klimaschutzprojekten begeben werden und von United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) geprüft sind. Durch den Kauf dieser Zertifikate für den Ausgleich der eigenen Emissionen, werden Projekte in Entwicklungsländern und damit lokale, nachhaltige Entwicklung sowie die Erreichung der UN Sustainable Development Goals unterstützt.

Die Commerzbank AG arbeitet in Deutschland bereits seit 2015 klimaneutral und kompensiert ihre unvermeidbaren Emissionen mit CERs von Projekten in den Bereichen erneuerbare Energien und Energieeffizienz. Im Februar 2019 haben wir mit Unterzeichnung der Initiative Climate Neutral Now unser Engagement zum Klimaschutz weiter verfestigt.

Weiterführende Links

Zum Seitenanfang