New Life For Used Paper Towels New Life For Used Paper Towels

search

“This is not toilet paper – it’s actually hand towels”, is printed on the tape around a roll of toilet paper. The use of paper towels generates a lot of waste at Commerzbank every day. This is where one of the Bank's sustainability projects takes place. Since 2016, approximately 25 tonnes of paper have been recycled instead of being thrown away (status as of August 2017). Therefore Commerzbank has implemented a project named “Tork PaperCircle” by Essity, a Swedish manufacturer of hygienic paper products. The project was honoured with the European Paper Recycling Award 2017 in October 2017.

Paper towels are used in the washrooms for hygienic reasons and because of their easy handling in logistics. When it comes to procurement, Commerzbank pays attention to the certification of the "Forest Stewardship Council" (FSC) and thus supports environmentally friendly, socially responsible and economically viable forestry. Furthermore the reuse of the paper saves raw material, improves the CO2 balance of Commerzbank and saves about 20 percent of residual waste.

For the recycling process, the used paper towels are transported once a month to a paper mill near Mainz, where they are brought back to life as toilet paper. Effective recycling requires a strict separation by our employees: the quota of paper towels in the respective containers is 98 percent. Following successful piloting, the recycling project has now been expanded to 15 offices of Commerzbank.

Top

Neues Leben für gebrauchte Papierhandtücher Neues Leben für gebrauchte Papierhandtücher

Suche

„This is not toilet paper“, steht auf dem Band um die Rolle Toilettenpapier „…it’s actually hand towels“: Täglich fallen in der Commerzbank große Mengen Abfall durch Papierhandtücher aus den Waschräumen an. Hier setzt ein Nachhaltigkeitsprojekt der Bank an. Rund 25 Tonnen Papier, die ansonsten im Restmüll gelandet wären, wurden seit 2016 in einem Recyclingprozess der Wertstoffkette erneut zugeführt (Stand August 2017). Damit setzt die Commerzbank das Projekt „Tork PaperCircle“ von Essity um, einem schwedischen Hersteller für Hygienepapier. Das Projekt erhielt im Oktober 2017 den European Paper Recycling Award 2017.

Der Einsatz von Papierhandtüchern in den Waschräumen erfolgt aufgrund hygienischer Aspekte und ihrer einfachen Handhabung in der Logistik. Bei der Beschaffung achtet die Commerzbank auf die Zertifizierung des „Forest Stewardship Council“ (FSC) und unterstützt damit eine umweltfreundliche, sozialförderliche und ökonomische tragfähige Bewirtschaftung von Wäldern. Die Wiederverwendung des Papiers spart zudem Rohstoffe, senkt die CO2-Bilanz der Commerzbank und spart etwa 20 Prozent des Restabfallaufkommens ein.

Für den Recyclingprozess werden die gebrauchten Papierhandtücher einmal im Monat in eine Papiermühle bei Mainz transportiert und dort als Toilettenpapier zu neuem Leben erweckt. Effektives Recycling erfordert eine strikte Abfalltrennung unserer Mitarbeiter: Die Quote an Papierhandtüchern in den entsprechenden Behältern liegt bei 98 Prozent. Das Recyclingprojekt wurde nach erfolgreicher Pilotierung auf 15 Bürogebäude der Commerzbank ausgeweitet.

Zum Seitenanfang