Energy Management with Smart Meters Energy Management with Smart Meters

search

Efficient energy management is a key part in the sustainability strategy of Commerzbank. By switching to 100 per cent green electricity in Germany, the power consumption is almost without CO2 emissions, but with around 220 million kWh one of the largest cost units in real estate operations. Now it should be further reduced by the use of intelligent power meters.

These so-called "Smart Meters" measure the used electric power in a quarter-hour rhythm and transmit this data to an online tool. It provides precise information about the consumption behaviour, in particular at what times the need of energy is highest - or particularly low. On this basis, Commerzbank can develop measures for better and more cost-effective load balancing. In addition, the evaluation possibilities identify potential for energy savings. Overall, the Bank expects with the use of Smart Meters energy savings of about 10 per cent. Another advantage: Thanks to the Smart Meter, the cost-intensive and error-prone manual collection of data can be significantly reduced.

Initially around 300 Smart Meters are implemented, primarily in buildings with particularly high energy consumption. After a successful pilot, the project will be expanded, including the measurement of gas and water consumption. Commerzbank is one of the first DAX companies that implements Smart Meters.

Support for the Sustainable Development Goals

Top

Energiemanagement mit Smart Meter Energiemanagement mit Smart Meter

Suche

Effizientes Energiemanagement ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie der Commerzbank. Durch die Umstellung auf 100 Prozent Ökostrom in Deutschland ist der Stromverbrauch zwar nahezu ohne CO2-Emission, gehört aber mit jährlich rund 220 Millionen kWh zu den größten Kostenpositionen im Immobilienbetrieb. Durch den Einsatz intelligenter Stromzähler soll er nun weiter gesenkt werden.

Diese so genannten „Smart Meter“ erfassen die in Anspruch genommene elektrische Leistung im Viertelstundenrhythmus und übermitteln diese Daten an ein Online-Tool. Das bietet präzise Auskunft über das Verbrauchsverhalten, insbesondere zu welchen Zeiten der Energiebedarf am größten oder besonders gering ist. Auf dieser Grundlage kann die Commerzbank Maßnahmen zur besseren und kostengünstigeren Lastverteilung entwickeln. Außerdem zeigen die Auswertungsmöglichkeiten Energiesparpotenziale auf. Insgesamt erhofft sich die Bank durch den Einsatz der Smart Meter eine Energieeinsparung von circa 10 Prozent. Ein weiterer Vorteil: Durch die Smart Meter kann die kostenintensive und fehleranfällige manuelle Datenerfassung deutlich reduziert werden.

Zunächst sind rund 300 Smart Meter vorrangig in Gebäuden mit besonders hohem Energieverbrauch im Einsatz. Nach erfolgreichem Piloten soll das Projekt ausgebaut und zusätzlich auch der Gas- und Wasserverbrauch erfasst werden.

Ein Beitrag zu den Sustainable Development Goals

Zum Seitenanfang