Commit to Action Commit to Action

search

Logo_Paris_2015

Commerzbank supports a number of initiatives with the common aim to send a strong signal to policy for a far-reaching and binding climate change agreement.

One of these initiatives is the Carbon Pricing Leadership Coalition (CPLC) of the World Bank. The objective of this union is the establishment of a price for CO2 emission worldwide, according to the cost for the damage caused by greenhouse gases. Thus climate-friendly products and technologies are expected to become more attractive. Many governments, NGOs and businesses - including Commerzbank - joining together to stick up for it. Even the German Government joined the CPLC in May 2015.

In the run-up to the UN Climate Change Conference at the end of 2015, Commerzbank and other companies from many sectors of the German economy, supported by organizations from business and civil society, have issued a joint statement on the "Paris Agreement". In November 2016 Commerzbank, together with 40 other companies and associations, signed a follow-up statement regarding the German "Climate Protection Plan 2050". The signatories call on policy makers to give clear signals to implement the commitments made in Paris.

Commit to action is a platform of the non-governmental organisations CDP and „We mean Business“ to coordinate various climate change initiatives. Commerzbank participates in three of them:

close all open all

Commit to procure 100% of electricity from renewable sources

"Re100" unites companies that promote 100 percent green electricity to stop the use of fossil fuels and associated emissions. In Germany Commerzbank uses 100 percent green power to run its businesses, worldwide 96 percent.

Commit to remove commodity-driven deforestation from all supply chains by 2020

As forest can absorb CO2, the third initiative wants to stop the damage of forest for agricultural production.

Commit to responsible corporate engagement in climate policy

In context of the World Climate Conference in Paris Commerzbank jointly with other companies claims to negotiate a worldwide binding climate agreement.

Support for the Sustainable Development Goals

Top

Commit to Action Commit to Action

Suche

Logo Road to Paris

Die Commerzbank unterstützt eine Reihe von Initiativen, die das gemeinsame Ziel haben, mehr Engagement zum Schutz des Klimas zu zeigen und einzufordern. Gemeinsam sollte ein starkes Signal an die Politik gesandt werden, sich für ein weitreichendes und verbindliches Klimaschutzabkommen einzusetzen.

Zu diesen Initiativen zählt die Carbon Pricing Leadership Coalition (CPLC) der Weltbank. Ziel des Zusammenschlusses ist es, die Emission von CO2 weltweit mit einem Preis zu versehen, der den Kosten der durch Treibhausgas verursachten Schäden entspricht. Damit würden in der Folge klimafreundliche Produkte und Technologien attraktiver. Zahlreiche Regierungen, Nichtregierungsorganisationen und Unternehmen – darunter die Commerzbank – machen sich gemeinsam dafür stark. Auch die Bundesregierung hat sich im Mai 2015 der CPLC angeschlossen.

Im Nachgang zum Klimaabkommen von Paris hat die Commerzbank im Dezember 2015 mit Unternehmen aus vielen Branchen der deutschen Wirtschaft, unterstützt durch Verbände aus Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft, eine gemeinsame Erklärung abgegeben. Im November 2016 unterzeichnete die Commerzbank gemeinsam mit rund 40 weiteren Unternehmen und Verbänden auch die Folgeerklärung, die kurz vor Verabschiedung des Klimaschutzplans 2050 durch die Bundesregierung veröffentlicht wurde und die Politik auffordert, eindeutige Signale zu geben, die in Paris gemachten Zusagen umzusetzen.

Commit to action heißt eine Plattform der Nichtregierungsorganisationen CDP und „We mean Business“, auf der verschiedene Klimaschutz-Initiativen koordiniert werden. Die Commerzbank beteiligt sich an drei davon:

Alle einklappen Alle ausklappen

Commit to procure 100% of electricity from renewable sources

„RE 100“ vereint Unternehmen, die für 100 Prozent Ökostrom einstehen, um die Nutzung fossiler Energien und die damit verbundenen Emissionen zu beenden. Die Commerzbank bezieht in Deutschland bereits zu 100 Prozent Ökostrom, weltweit sind es 96 Prozent.

Commit to remove commodity-driven deforestation from all supply chains by 2020

Eine dritte Initiative fordert, das Abholzen von Wäldern für die Erzeugung landwirtschaftlicher Rohstoffe zu beenden, da Wälder CO2 binden können.

Commit to responsible corporate engagement in climate policy

Aus Anlass der Weltklimakonferenz in Paris richtet sich die Commerzbank gemeinsam mit anderen Unternehmen an die Politik, ein weltweit verbindliches Klimaabkommen auszuhandeln.

Ein Beitrag zu den Sustainable Development Goals

Zum Seitenanfang