Criteria for Project Selection Criteria for Project Selection

search

Commerzbank compensates for the greenhouse-gas emissions caused by its banking operations via investments in selected climate-protection projects. In this regard, the integrity of the emission-reduction projects and that of the certificates generated from these projects are essential in adequately compensating for CO2 emission. For this reason, we have adopted clear principles for the selection of the projects. They pertain to the quality of the certificates, the forms of technology deployed towards the prevention of CO2, as well as to the countries in which the projects are located:

  • The compensation is effected via CO2 certificates of the type Certified Emission Reductions (CER) that are generated within the framework of the Clean Development Mechanism, which is regulated by the UN. In this manner, we ensure that the CO2 reduction has actually taken place or will do so in the future, and is permanent. In addition, it is assured that the CO2 reduction takes place additionally, and would not have been realised anyway. Moreover, with respect to the CER standard, the evidence of CO2 reductions which have actually taken place is furnished by independent third parties. When it comes to the compensation of CO2 emissions which are caused within the scope of business flights, we take a step further and involve compensation projects of the highest quality (gold standard).
  • With respect to the selection of the projects, we set great store by a direct bearing on the core business of the Bank. As such, we aim at promoting, in particular, projects in the area of renewable energy and energy efficiency as long as no large industrial projects are involved. Since the maintenance of biodiversity is also important to Commerzbank, forestry projects may also be included to a smaller extent.
  • Although the emissions are primarily caused by the industrial nations, the consequences of climate change are felt firstly and most strongly by the people in less developed countries. For this reason, we aim to primarily support climate-protection projects in developing countries. Up to 20 per cent of the emissions can be compensated for in emerging markets, whereas projects in industrialised countries are excluded. In order to create a link here as well to our core business, preference is given to projects in countries which Commerzbank itself is active.

The projects

Top

Kriterien für die Projektauswahl Kriterien für die Projektauswahl

Suche

Die Commerzbank kompensiert die durch den Bankbetrieb verursachte Treibhausgas-Emission durch Investitionen in ausgewählte Klimaschutzprojekte. Dabei ist die Integrität der Emissionsminderungsprojekte und der daraus generierten Zertifikate essentiell, um einen angemessenen CO2-Ausgleich zu schaffen. Deshalb haben wir klare Grundsätze für die Auswahl der Projekte verabschiedet. Sie beziehen sich auf die Qualität der Zertifikate, die Technologien, die zur CO2-Vermeidung eingesetzt werden, sowie die Länder, in denen die Projekte angesiedelt sind:

  • Die Kompensation erfolgt über CO2-Zertifikate des Typs Certified Emission Reductions (CER), die im Rahmen des von der UN regulierten Clean Development Mechanism generiert werden. Damit stellen wir sicher, dass eine CO2-Minderung tatsächlich erfolgt bzw. in Zukunft erfolgen wird und dauerhaft ist. Außerdem ist gewährleistet, dass eine zusätzliche CO2-Minderung erfolgt, die nicht ohnehin realisiert worden wäre. Des Weiteren wird beim CER-Standard der Nachweis der tatsächlich erfolgten CO2-Minderung durch unabhängige Dritte erbracht. Bei der Kompensation der CO2-Emissionen, die im Rahmen von dienstlichen Flugreisen entstehen, gehen wir noch einen Schritt weiter und ziehen Kompensationsprojekte der höchsten Güteklasse heran (Gold-Standard).
  • Wir legen bei der Auswahl der Projekte Wert auf einen Bezug zum Kerngeschäft der Bank. So wollen wir insbesondere Projekte in den Bereichen erneuerbare Energien und Energieeffizienz fördern, sofern es sich nicht um industrielle Großprojekte handelt. Da der Commerzbank aber auch der Erhalt der Biodiversität ein Anliegen ist, können in geringerem Umfang Waldprojekte beigemischt werden.
  • Obwohl die Emissionen hauptsächlich von den Industrienationen verursacht werden, treffen die Folgen des Klimawandels die Menschen in weniger entwickelten Ländern zuerst und am stärksten. Deshalb möchten wir vor allem Klimaschutzprojekte in Entwicklungsländern unterstützen. Bis zu 20 Prozent der Emissionen können in Schwellenländern kompensiert werden. Projekte in Industrieländern sind dagegen ausgeschlossen. Um auch hier einen Bezug zu unserem Kerngeschäft herzustellen, werden vorzugsweise Projekte in Ländern ausgewählt, in denen die Commerzbank selbst aktiv ist.

Zum Seitenanfang