Commerzbank at a glance Commerzbank at a glance

search

Strategy & business model


Our strategy

The current low interest rate environment, a significantly tougher regulatory landscape and digitalisation have all been factors leading to a fundamental change in the banking business. There has also been a profound change in the way in which clients wish to conduct their banking business. Commerzbank is addressing these major challenges with a strategic realignment: Commerzbank 4.0, where focused growth, digitalisation and efficiency are at the heart of the new strategy.

Specifically, this means that:

We are focusing our business model

In future, Commerzbank will concentrate on two strong client segments: Private & Small Business Customers, and Corporate Clients. This will allow us to focus on our key strength: giving advice. We will therefore remain the "Bank at your side" – personally and digitally. We will continue to live up to our promise of being a bank that is both fair and competent. At the same time, we will concentrate on our core areas of expertise, seizing the opportunities that digitalisation offers, to become better, more innovative, and faster.

We will continue to provide a personal service to our private customers in approximately 1,000 branches throughout Germany. As part of this drive, we will modernise our branches and introduce new branch types. At the same time, we will be expanding our digital offering, creating a uniform digital platform for all customers and all channels. The Private & Small Business Customers segment will thus develop into the first real digital multi-channel bank.

We are expanding our offering for small and medium-sized enterprises, hence the creation of a separate Small Business Customers area in the Private & Small Business Customers segment. This area will be responsible for small business customers and the smaller corporates. We will tailor our products, as well as our digital service range, to meet an enterprise’s requirements, and leverage the success we have achieved with our private customers as well. We plan on being the “bank at your side” for German SMEs in the future too. Our customised service with regional proximity – offered at more than 300 locations for small business customers – remains a key success factor.

In future we will provide a one-stop-shop service to large and institutional clients in the new Corporate Clients segment. We are integrating our investment banking business into the new segment, simplifying its trading activities. Key services to corporate clients will continue to be an important part of our portfolio. We consistently leverage our competitive advantages in international trade finance, and leverage our expertise in key German industrial sectors to boost international growth.

We are evolving into a digital technology business

Digitalisation is changing the rules in the banking industry. We will therefore reinvent Commerzbank as a digital technology business in the years ahead. We are building a comprehensive and powerful digital business model to make banking as easy as possible for all customers.

With this new strategic programme, we intend to fundamentally reinvent the Bank. The goal of Commerzbank 4.0 is to become the leading bank in Germany for private customers, small businesses and corporate clients – digital and personal, close to our customers and clients, quick and efficient in settlements. This will allow Commerzbank to grow sustainably and profitably, even in a difficult environment.

Weitere Informationen zur neuen Strategie:

Top

Commerzbank im Überblick Commerzbank im Überblick

Suche

Strategie & Geschäftsmodell


Unsere Strategie

Das aktuelle Niedrigzinsumfeld, gesetzliche Regelungen und die Digitalisierung haben das Bankgeschäft grundlegend verändert. Auch die Art und Weise, wie Kunden ihre Bankgeschäfte erledigen möchten, hat sich stark geändert. Die Commerzbank stellt sich diesen großen Herausforderungen mit einer strategischen Neuausrichtung: Commerzbank 4.0. Im Zentrum der neuen Strategie stehen fokussiertes Wachstum, Digitalisierung und Effizienz.

Im Einzelnen heißt dies:

Wir fokussieren unser Geschäftsmodell

Die Commerzbank wird sich künftig auf zwei starke Kundensegmente konzentrieren: Privat- und Unternehmerkunden einerseits sowie Firmenkunden andererseits. Damit fokussieren wir uns auf unsere Stärke: Die Beratung unserer Kunden. Wir bleiben also weiterhin die „Bank an Ihrer Seite“: persönlich und digital. Unser Versprechen einer fairen und kompetenten Bank gilt nach wie vor. Gleichzeitig konzentrieren wir uns auf unsere Kernkompetenzen und nutzen die Chancen der Digitalisierung, um innovativer, besser und schneller zu werden.

Für unsere Privatkunden sind wir mit unseren Beratungs- und Serviceleistungen weiterhin in bundesweit mehr als 1.000 Filialen persönlich da. Dabei werden wir Filialen modernisieren und neue Filialtypen einführen. Gleichzeitig weiten wir unser digitales Angebot aus und schaffen eine einheitliche digitale Plattform für alle Kunden und alle Kanäle. Damit wird das Segment Privat- und Unternehmerkunden in den nächsten Jahren zur ersten echten digitalen Multikanalbank.

Wir stärken unser Angebot für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen. Dafür schaffen wir im Segment Privat- und Unternehmerkunden ein eigenes Geschäftsfeld für Unternehmerkunden. Er wird für Geschäftskunden und kleine Firmenkunden zuständig sein. Dabei richten wir unsere Produkte ebenso wie unsere digitalen Leistungsangebote passgenau auf den Bedarf von Unternehmern aus und nutzen den Erfolg bei unseren Privatkunden auch für sie. Denn wir werden auch in Zukunft die Bank an der Seite des Mittelstands in Deutschland sein. Unveränderter Erfolgsfaktor ist und bleibt dabei unsere individuelle Betreuung aus regionaler Nähe in über 300 Standorten für Unternehmerkunden.

Im neuen Segment Firmenkunden betreuen wir Großkunden und institutionelle Kunden künftig aus einer Hand. Das Investmentbanking integrieren wir in das neue Segment und vereinfachen dessen Handelsaktivitäten. Für Firmenkunden wichtige Dienstleistungen bleiben weiter ein wichtiger Teil unseres Leistungsportfolios. Unsere Wettbewerbsvorteile bei internationalen Handelsfinanzierungen spielen wir konsequent aus und nutzen unsere Expertise in wichtigen deutschen Schlüsselindustrien stärker für internationales Wachstum.

Wir entwickeln uns zu einem digitalen Technologieunternehmen

Die Digitalisierung ändert die Spielregeln in der Bankenbranche. In den nächsten Jahren werden wir daher die Commerzbank zu einem digitalen Technologieunternehmen umbauen. Wir entwickeln ein ganzheitliches digitales Geschäftsmodell, das mit einem starken digitalen Angebot Banking für alle Kunden so einfach wie möglich macht.

Mit diesem strategischen Programm erneuern wir die Commerzbank von Grund auf. Ziel der Commerzbank 4.0 ist, die führende Bank in Deutschland für Privat- Unternehmer- und Firmenkunden zu werden: digital und persönlich, nah am Kunden, schnell und effizient in der Abwicklung. So kann die Commerzbank nachhaltig und profitabel wachsen, auch in einem schwierigen Umfeld.

Weitere Informationen zur neuen Strategie:

Geschäftsbericht 2016

Zum Seitenanfang