Commerzbank's Memory and Legacy Commerzbank's Memory and Legacy

search

Advertisement from 1905

The Commerzbank’s history reaches back over 140 eventful years: its foundation in Hamburg, the hyperinflation, two world wars, its centralization in Frankfurt, the globalization of banking business as well as the merger of Commerzbank and Dresdner Bank.

Our company archive – the Historical Archive – is safekeeping all documents concerning the history of the Commerzbank and affiliated institutions that are not required anymore in ongoing business. Documents worth filing are for example protocols, contracts and correspondences important according to legal, historical or corporate reasons. In total, the Commerzbank’s Historical Archive comprises 14 kilometers of files including the Dresdner Bank’s file documentation. Essential parts of the Dresdner Bank’s collection are classified as nationally valuable cultural asset since December 2010.

The Historical Archive answers questions related to the history of the Commerzbank and its predecessors and fosters active historical communication based on scientific methods. Moreover, it attends to and supports research projects on the history of banks and economic history in cooperation with the Eugen-Gutmann-Gesellschaft. In principle, the usage of the Historical Archive is possible for anyone, corresponding to the archive-specific provisions and terms.

Photo: Advertisement from 1905

Contact

Commerzbank AG

Top

Gedächtnis und Vermächtnis der Commerzbank Gedächtnis und Vermächtnis der Commerzbank

Suche

Anzeige der Commerzbank aus dem Jahr 1905

In über 140 Jahren Commerzbank hat sich viel ereignet: Gründung in Hamburg, Hyperinflation, zwei Weltkriege, Zentralisierung in Frankfurt am Main, Globalisierung des Bankgeschäfts, Zusammenschluss von Commerzbank und Dresdner Bank.

Als Unternehmensarchiv verwahrt das Historische Archiv Unterlagen zur Geschichte der Commerzbank und der von ihr übernommenen Institute, die im laufenden Geschäftsbetrieb nicht mehr benötigt werden. "Archivwürdig" sind dabei zentrale Dokumente wie Protokolle, Verträge und Korrespondenzen, die aus juristisch-historischen Gründen benötigt werden oder die aus unternehmensgeschichtlicher Sicht wichtig sind. Insgesamt verwahrt das Historische Archiv der Commerzbank 14 Regalkilometer Akten. Darunter befindet sich auch der historische Aktenbestand der Dresdner Bank, von dem wichtige Teile seit Dezember 2010 als national wertvolles Kulturgut eingetragen sind.

Das Historische Archiv beantwortet Anfragen zur Geschichte der Commerzbank sowie ihrer Vorgängerinstitute und betreibt auf wissenschaftlicher Grundlage aktive historische Kommunikation. Darüber hinaus betreut und fördert es in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Eugen-Gutmann-Gesellschaft Forschungsprojekte zur Banken- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte. Die Nutzung des Historischen Archivs sowie Archivführungen sind grundsätzlich im Rahmen der archivüblichen Bestimmungen und Schutzfristen für jedermann möglich.

Abbildung: Anzeige der Commerzbank aus dem Jahr 1905

Kontakt

Commerzbank AG

Zum Seitenanfang