klimaVest: Impact fund for private investors klimaVest: Impact fund for private investors

search

klimaVest_Logo

Commerz Real launched its first impact fund for private investors in October 2020. The vision of klimaVest is clearly defined: Invest and contribute to climate protection. The fund thus addresses the challenge of climate change and for the first time also offers private investors access to investments in renewable energies, such as wind farms and photovoltaic plants. In addition to completed plants, the fund invests in project developments in order to actively promote the expansion of renewable energies. In this way, the themes of "attractive returns" and "measurable ecological impact" are combined. The fund aims to contribute to the long-term limitation of global warming in accordance with the goals of the Paris Agreement of 2015 and to fulfil sustainability parameters of the EU taxonomy.

Over its lifetime of at least 50 years, the Impact Fund aims to build a portfolio of renewable energy generation assets as well as sustainable infrastructure, mobility and forestry assets worth a total of at least €25 billion, of which approximately €10 billion is equity. Investors can participate from €10.000 and receive regular reporting not only on the performance but also on the climate impact achieved by the assets in the fund. With the CO2 calculator, investors can estimate their personal CO2 footprint in the first section and the targeted CO2 avoidance of the renewable energy investments of klimaVest in the second section.

In order to achieve the climate goals of the European Green Deal, considerably more investments are needed than have been made so far. The klimaVest aims to make a substantial contribution to the energy turnaround: the fund aims to avoid approximately 3,5 tonnes per 10.000 euros with the renewable energy plants. Since its launch in October 2020, the fund has collected approximately €600 million in customer deposits. As of 31 August 2021, the current portfolio consists of 19 wind farms and three solar power plants. In addition, there are four solar park project developments that will be completed in the upcoming years. The nominal capacity of the existing assets totals 361 megawatts and that of the project developments to be completed in the future 231 megawatts.

For Commerzbank, klimaVest is an important addition to its product range, as the interest of bank customers in sustainable investments is increasing significantly. While so-called ESG funds (Environmental, Social and Governance) are usually defined by exclusion criteria - for example, not investing in lignite, oil and gas - impact funds aim to make a measurable positive contribution. For example, klimaVest aims to limit global warming by avoiding more than 200,000 tonnes of CO2 per year, while at the same time achieving an appropriate return.

Further information

Top

klimaVest: Impact-Fonds für Privatanleger klimaVest: Impact-Fonds für Privatanleger

Suche

klimaVest_Logo

Die Commerz Real hat im Oktober 2020 ihren ersten Impact-Fonds für Privatanleger gestartet. Die Vision des klimaVest ist klar formuliert: Investieren und einen Beitrag zum Klimaschutz leisten. Damit greift der Fonds die Herausforderung des Klimawandels auf und bietet erstmalig auch Privatanlegern Zugang zu Investments in erneuerbare Energien, wie Windparks und Photovoltaik-Anlagen. Neben fertiggestellten Anlagen investiert der Fonds in Projektentwicklungen, um den Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien aktiv voranzutreiben So werden die Themen "attraktive Rendite" und "messbare ökologische Wirkung" miteinander verbunden. Der Fonds ist bestrebt zur Erreichung der langfristigen Begrenzung der Erderwärmung, gemäß der Ziele des Übereinkommens von Paris von 2015 beizutragen und Nachhaltigkeitsparameter der geltenden EU-Taxonomie zu erfüllen.

Während seiner Laufzeit von mindestens 50 Jahren soll der Impact-Fonds ein Portfolio aus Anlagen zur Erzeugung erneuerbarer Energien sowie nachhaltiger Infrastruktur, Mobilität und Forstwirtschaft im Wert von insgesamt mindestens 25 Milliarden Euro aufbauen, davon etwa 10 Milliarden Euro Eigenkapital. Anleger können sich ab 10.000 Euro beteiligen und erhalten ein regelmäßiges Reporting nicht nur zur Wertentwicklung, sondern auch zur erzielten Klimawirkung der Assets im Fonds. Mit dem CO2-Rechner können Anleger im ersten Abschnitt Ihren persönlichen CO2-Fußabdruck und im zweiten Abschnitt die angestrebte CO2-Vermeidung der erneuerbaren Energien Anlagen des klimaVest einschätzen.

Um die Klimaziele des European Green Deals zu erreichen, sind erheblich mehr Investitionen nötig als bislang getätigt werden. Der klimaVest soll hier einen substanziellen Beitrag zur Energiewende leisten: Der Fonds hat das Ziel, circa 3,5 Tonnen pro 10.000 Euro mit den erneuerbaren Energien Anlagen zu vermeiden. Seit der Auflage im Oktober 2020 konnte der Fonds circa 600 Millionen Euro an Kundengeldern sammeln. So setzt sich das laufende Portfolio zum Stichtag 31. August 2021 aus 19 Windparks und drei Solarkraftanlagen zusammen. Hinzu kommen vier Solarpark-Projektentwicklungen, die in den kommenden Jahren fertiggestellt werden. Die Nennleistung der Bestands-Assets beträgt insgesamt 361 Megawatt und die der zukünftig fertigzustellenden Projektentwicklungen 231 Megawatt.

Für die Commerzbank, ist der klimaVest eine wichtige Ergänzung der Produktpalette, denn das Interesse der Bankkunden an nachhaltigen Geldanlagen nimmt deutlich zu. Während sich sogenannte ESG-Fonds (Environmental, Social and Governance) in der Regel über Ausschlusskriterien definieren – also zum Beispiel nicht in Braunkohle zu investieren – haben Impact-Fonds das Ziel, einen messbaren positiven Beitrag zu leisten. So zielt der klimaVest darauf ab, durch die angestrebte Vermeidung von über 200.000 Tonnen CO2 pro Jahr, die Erderwärmung zu begrenzen und gleichzeitig eine angemessene Rendite zu erzielen.

Weitere Informationen

Zum Seitenanfang