Insights: Bangladesh Insights: Bangladesh

search

As an international trade bank, Commerzbank functions as an intermediary of the international economy and development. With “Insights: Bangladesh” Commerzbank has together with experts published a report, that analyses Bangladesh from different perspectives, economic, political, diplomatic and social.

The report looks at sustainability, economic forecasts and grassroots industry experience in Bangladesh, as well as the crucial role of the banking sector. Leaders from the Bangladeshi business, finance and political worlds join Commerzbank’s own representatives to give their vital and targeted insights on this key emerging country.

In terms of area, Bangladesh is less than half the size of Germany; yet with just under 160 million inhabitants, it is one of the world’s most densely populated countries. At the same time, Bangladesh is one of the poorest countries in Asia. On the plus side, Bangladesh’s large, young labour force – the population is growing at around 1% a year and over half of the population is under 25 – represents a strong demographic advantage for the future.

In the past 10 years, the economy has grown substantially at rates of about 6%, with the export-oriented textile industry – which was promoted by the government after independence from Pakistan was gained in 1971 – providing the backbone for this growth. So, despite challenges remaining, Bangladesh’s future looks promising, and will be helped by broadening its export base through development of higher-end manufacturing and tertiary-sector services. 

Further Information

Inisghts_Bangladesh_Vorschaubild

Top

Insights: Bangladesh Insights: Bangladesh

Suche

Als internationale Geschäftsbank fungiert die Commerzbank als Intermediär der internationalen Wirtschaft und Entwicklung. Mit „Insights: Bangladesh“ hat die Commerzbank zusammen mit Experten einen Bericht veröffentlicht, der Bangladesch aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven, ökonomisch, politisch, diplomatisch und sozial, beleuchtet.

Der Bericht untersucht Nachhaltigkeit, ökonomische Aussichten und „grassroot industry“ Erfahrungen in Bangladesch sowie die essentielle Rolle des Bankensektors. Führungspersonen der bangladesischen Industrie, Politik und des Finanzsektors geben zusammen mit der Commerzbank Einblicke in dieses aufstrebende Land.

Bangladesch ist weniger als halb so groß wie Deutschland. Mit seinen knapp 160 Millionen Einwohnern ist es jedoch eines der am dichtesten bevölkerten Länder der Welt. Zugleich gehört Bangladesch auch zu den ärmsten Ländern Asiens. Positiv jedoch ist, dass Bangladesch über eine hohe Anzahl an jungen Arbeitskräften verfügt. Die Bevölkerung wächst jährlich um ca. 1%; mehr als die Hälfte der Einwohner ist unter 25 Jahren alt. Sie repräsentieren damit einen starken demographischen Vorteil für die wirtschaftliche Zukunft des Landes.

In den letzten 10 Jahren ist die Wirtschaft maßgeblich mit einer Rate von ca. 6% durch die exportorientierte Textilindustrie gewachsen, unterstützt durch die seit 1971 von Pakistan unabhängige Regierung. Es zeigt sich, dass die Zukunft Bangladeschs, trotz der bestehenden Herausforderungen, und mithilfe von Erweiterungen der Exportbasis mit qualitativ hochwertigen Produktionen sowie Dienstleistungen, vielversprechend aussieht.

Weiterführende Informationen

Inisghts_Bangladesh_Vorschaubild

Zum Seitenanfang