Take a Seat and Enjoy! Take a Seat and Enjoy!

search

picture of a theatre performance

The English Theatre Frankfurt is the largest English language theatre in continental Europe and since its establishment in 1979 it has become something of an institution on the region's arts scene. The theatre moved into Gallileo Tower following its opening in 2003 and has enjoyed a rent-free residency ever since. In 2009 Commerzbank extended the commitment originally made by Dresdner Bank as a key private sponsor.

Commerzbank's patronage over the theatre underscores the company's long-term commitment to education. The English Theatre not only attracts the youngest audience in Frankfurt, it also encourages people to refine their English language skills outside the classroom by offering special packages for schools and teachers. For example, the theatre provides bilingual teaching material and gives students and teachers a moment in the spotlight with its drama club led by theatre professionals.

The English Theatre Frankfurt stages a mixture of classical and contemporary drama, comedies, thrillers and musicals in its 300-seat auditorium. It is visited by native English speakers as well as many German and international guests with a passion for English. The popularity of the featured plays and the quality of the productions have kept audience figures high year after year.

Further information

logo English Theatre Frankfurt

Top

Take a Seat and Enjoy! Take a Seat and Enjoy!

Suche

Schmuckbild Theateraufführung

The English Theatre Frankfurt ist das größte englischsprachige Theater auf dem europäischen Kontinent und hat sich seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1979 zu einer festen Größe in der Kulturszene der Rhein-Main-Region entwickelt. Seit der Eröffnung 2003 ist das Theater mietfrei im Gallileo-Hochhaus untergebracht. Die Commerzbank hat 2009 den Mietvertrag übernommen und setzt damit das ursprünglich von der Dresdner Bank eingegangene Engagement als wichtigster privater Förderer fort.

Die Commerzbank unterstreicht mit dem Sponsoring ihren nachhaltigen Einsatz für Bildung. Denn das English Theatre hat nicht nur das jüngste Publikum in Frankfurt, sondern engagiert sich mit speziellen Angeboten für Schulen und Lehrer für den englischen Spracherwerb außerhalb des Klassenzimmers. Das Haus stellt zum Beispiel zweisprachige Unterrichtsmaterialien bereit oder bietet im Drama-Club Schülern und Lehrern die Gelegenheit, das Medium Theaterspiel unter professioneller Anleitung zu erkunden.

In dem Saal mit 300 Sitzplätzen präsentiert The English Theatre Frankfurt eine Mischung aus klassischen und zeitgenössischen Dramen, Komödien, Thriller und Musicals. Zu den Besuchern gehören neben zahlreichen Muttersprachlern auch viele deutsche und internationale Besucher, die eine Vorliebe für die englische Sprache haben. Die Popularität von Stücken und die gelungenen Inszenierungen sorgen seit Jahren für anhaltend hohe Besucherzahlen.

Zum Seitenanfang