Active Climate Protection Active Climate Protection

search

windraeder_240px

Financial institutions play an important role in the mitigation of climate change to which the Community of Nations has committed itself in the Paris Agreement in 2015. It has been agreed as one of three goals to direct global financial flows into projects and technologies that reduce greenhouse gas emissions and promote climate-resilient development. Commerzbank recognises its responsibility to make its contribution.

And not just since Paris: Since 2008, we have been pursuing a climate strategy that, among other things, envisages the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions by 70% by 2020 (base year 2007). This goal was achieved two years ahead of time in 2018. Another stipulation of the climate strategy was the gradual compensation of unavoidable emissions. Since 2015, Commerzbank has been compensating its own carbon footprint with certificates from climate protection projects, thus working completely climate-neutral.

Additional requirements of the climate strategy are contributions to climate protection in the core business - for example by financing renewable energies, issuing green and social bonds or trading in emission rights - and the commitment to climate protection in various initiatives.

Details on the four main areas of action for the implementation of our climate strategy:

close all open all

1. Climate protection as part of environmental management at the bank

A systematic analysis of the sources of emissions as well as of our own carbon footprint is essential when determining the emissions reduction potential and introducing effective measures. Commerzbank is therefore moving away from eco-controlling in favour of CO2 accounting, which involves implementing CO2 substitution measures, such as the gradual switch to green electricity and other CO2 reduction methods.

2. Offsetting unavoidable carbon emissions

Commerzbank compensates for emissions that are (still) unavoidable by purchasing and decommissioning CO2 certificates from climate protection projects and has been working climate neutral since 2015. The focus lies on projects in developing and emerging countries that use the revenues from the purchase of certificates for the construction and expansion of renewable energy plants or energy efficiency programs. These projects usually also have social benefits for the people in the region, for example through creating jobs and thus offering modest prosperity, improving energy supply or providing an alternative to harmful methods such as wood fired cooking stoves.

3. Environmentally responsible products and services in core business

Commerzbank also promotes sustainable development in its core business. The bank has been financing wind and solar parks since the 1980s. Today it is one of the largest financiers of renewable energy in Europe. A recent example is Green and Social Bonds which are specific bonds that finance sustainable projects. In 2018 alone, Commerzbank accompanied 20 green and social bonds from customers with a total volume of more than 11 billion euros. In October 2018, the bank also launched its first own Green Bond with 500 million euros.

For climate protection, it is no less important to decline certain businesses. In dealing with environmental and social risks, Commerzbank has published a new framework in 2018 that contains all industry-specific requirements, such as mining, energy, oil and gas. Cross-industry requirements concern human rights and indigenous peoples. For particularly critical topics exclusionary criteria were formulated. For example, the bank does not finance new coal-fired power plants or projects related to fracking or tar sands.

4. Communication on climate protection

In order to further spread the idea of ​​climate protection, Commerzbank is active in various initiatives, such as the Development and Climate Alliance of the German Development Ministry or Climate Neutral Now, set up by the United Nations Climate Change Program. In addition, the Bank is involved in several industry initiatives for a sustainable finance industry such as the Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster.

Further information

Climate-neutral bank business

Since 2015 remaining greenhouse-gas emissions have been compensated for through the purchase and decommissioning of high-quality CO2 certificates

more

Achievment of climate target

Press release on the early achievement of climate goals in 2018

more

Commit to action

Commerzbank supports a number of initiatives in the run-up to the UN Climate Change Conference 2015 in Paris.

More information on the initiatives

Support for the Sustainable Development Goals

Top

Aktiver Klimaschutz Aktiver Klimaschutz

Suche

Schmuckbild Gletscher

Finanzinstituten kommt eine besondere Rolle zu bei der Eindämmung des Klimawandels, zu der sich die Staatengemeinschaft mit dem Klimaabkommen von Paris 2015 verpflichtet hat. Dort wurde als eines von drei Zielen vereinbart, die globalen Finanzströme in Projekte und Technologien zu lenken, die Treibhausgasemissionen vermindern und eine klimaresistente Entwicklung fördern. Die Commerzbank sieht sich in der Verantwortung, ihren Beitrag dazu zu leisten.

Und das nicht erst seit Paris: Wir verfolgen seit 2008 eine Klimastrategie, die unter anderem die Reduzierung der Treibhausgas-Emissionen um 70% bis 2020 vorsieht (Basisjahr 2007). Dieses Ziel wurde 2018 zwei Jahre vor der Zeit erreicht. Eine weitere Maßgabe der Klimastrategie war die sukzessive Kompensation unvermeidbarer Emissionen. Seit 2015 gleicht die Commerzbank ihren eigenen CO2-Fußabdruck mit Zertifikaten aus Klimaschutzprojekten aus und arbeitet damit komplett klimaneutral.

Weitere Maßgaben der Klimastrategie sind Beiträge zum Klimaschutz im Kerngeschäft - etwa durch Finanzierung erneuerbarer Energien, Emission von Green and Social Bonds oder durch den Handel mit Emissionsrechten - und das Engagement für Klimaschutz in verschiedenen Initiativen.

Details zu den vier Handlungsfeldern für die Umsetzung unserer Klimastrategie:

Alle einklappen Alle ausklappen

1. Klimaschutz als Teil des betrieblichen Umweltmanagements

Für die Bewertung der Reduktionspotenziale und die Einleitung von wirksamen Maßnahmen ist eine systematische Analyse der Emissionsquellen und die Kenntnis des eigenen CO2-Fußabdrucks grundlegend. Die Commerzbank geht hierfür den Schritt vom bewährten Öko-Controlling zum CO2-Accounting. Auf dieser Basis werden CO2-Substitutionsmaßnahmen wie die Umstellung auf Ökostrom und CO2-Reduktionsmaßnahmen eingeleitet.

2. Kompensation nicht vermeidbarer CO2-Emissionen

Emissionen, die sich (noch) nicht vermeiden lassen, gleicht die Commerzbank durch Kauf und Stilllegung von CO2-Zertifikaten aus Klimaschutzprojekten aus und arbeitet so seit 2015 klimaneutral. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf Projekten in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern, die den Erlös aus dem Zertifikateverkauf für den Auf- und Ausbau von Anlagen für erneuerbare Energie oder für Energieeffizienzprogramme nutzen. Diese Projekte haben in der Regel auch sozialen Nutzen für die Menschen der jeweiligen Region, etwa weil sie Arbeitsplätze schaffen und so bescheidenen Wohlstand bieten, die Energieversorgung verbessern oder eine Alternative zu gesundheitsschädlichen Methoden wie z.B. holzbefeuerte Kochstellen bieten.

3. Klimafreundliche Produkte und Dienstleistungen im Kerngeschäft

Auch in ihrem Kerngeschäft fördert die Commerzbank eine nachhaltige Entwicklung. So finanziert die Bank seit den 80er-Jahren Wind- und Solarparks. Heute zählt sie zu den größten Finanzierern erneuerbarer Energien in Europa. Ein jüngeres Beispiel sind Green and Social Bonds, also Anleihen, mit denen nachhaltige Projekte finanziert werden. Alleine 2018 begleitete die Commerzbank 20 Green and Social Bonds von Kunden mit einem Volumen von insgesamt mehr als 11 Milliarden Euro. Im Oktober 2018 hat die Bank zudem ihren ersten eigenen Green Bond mit 500 Millionen Euro aufgelegt.

Nicht minder wichtig für den Klimaschutz ist es, auf bestimmte Geschäfte zu verzichten. Für den Umgang mit Umwelt- und Sozialrisiken hat die Commerzbank 2018 ein neues Rahmenwerk veröffentlicht, das alle branchenspezifischen Anforderungen enthält, beispielsweise zu Bergbau, Energie sowie Öl und Gas. Branchen-übergreifende Anforderungen betreffen Menschenrechte und indigene Völker. Für besonders kritische Themenfelder wurden Ausschlusskriterien formuliert. So finanziert die Bank zum Beispiel keine neuen Kohlekraftwerke und keine Projekte mit Bezug zu Fracking oder Teersanden.

4. Kommunikation zum Klimaschutz

Um den Klimaschutzgedanken weiter zu verbreiten, ist die Commerzbank in verschiedenen Initiativen aktiv, etwa der Allianz für Entwicklung und Klima des Bundesentwicklungsministeriums oder bei Climate Neutral Now, das vom Klimaschutzprogramm der Vereinten Nationen aufgelegt wurde. Daneben engagiert sich die Bank in mehreren Brancheninitiativen für eine nachhaltige Finanzwirtschaft wie beispielsweise dem Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany.

Weitere Informationen

Commerzbank seit 2015 klimaneutral

Seit Januar 2015 kompensiert die Commerzbank alle nicht vermeidbaren CO2-Emissionen

mehr

Klimazielerreichung

Pressemeldung zur vorzeitigen Klimazielerreichung 2018

mehr

Commit to action

Die Commerzbank unterstützt eine Reihe von Initiativen, die im Vorfeld des Weltklimagipfel Ende 2015 in Paris ins Leben gerufen wurden, um mehr Engagement zum Schutz des Klimas zu zeigen und einzufordern.

Details zu den Initiativen

Ein Beitrag zu den Sustainable Development Goals

Zum Seitenanfang